Canada at the crossroads: Rule of law or anarchy?

2inch_voc_logo-url.jpgThis is not an article I ever wanted to write, but Friday’s (May 31/07) release of the “shameful coverup” by the Ipperwash Inquiry, the announcement that the federal government wants to reward the Douglas Creek Estates criminals with a $125,000,000 payment to Six Nations, and today’s release of a frightening video [dial-up] of Mohawk Warrior terrorist Shawn Brant threatening Canada leaves me no choice.

“I don’t give a rat’s ass if we create victims.”

“Not until every home has suffered like we have suffered will I stop.”

“We will take whatever action is necessary to bring this government to its knees.”

Shawn Brant, Mohawk Warrior
Leader of Deseronto occupation and rail blockade

Our country is at a very dangerous crossroads. One road leads to a nation ruled by laws where all citizens are equal; the other leads to a black hole where law-abiding citizens realize that the police and government will not protect them from native criminals, and are forced to take the law into their own hands in order to defend themselves.

When I first heard about the terrible events in Caledonia and how the OPP stood by and watched as they occurred, I was angry. When I listened to politicians and journalists ridicule Gary McHale for organizing peaceful protests, I was angry. When I heard that a law-abiding citizen was arrested for trying to raise a Canadian flag, I was angry. When the OPP ripped a Canadian flag from my hands and arrested McHale and me to prevent us from putting up a flag, I was angry. When the OPP defamed us, I was angry. When I watched a native thug escape arrest or identification on Chris Syrie’s property, I was angry. When the OPP again violated my constitutional rights on January 20th, I was angry. When I heard Dancer’s story, I was angry. When I heard the audio recordings of DCE maniacs planning to shoot residents and OPP officers, I was angry. When I heard that a native man was shot because the OPP wouldn’t get involved in a dispute involving DCE, I was angry. And, when I saw the video of OPP officers in Hagersville helping natives intimidate a deeded land owner during an illegal occupation by helping build a fence to keep the owner out, I was angry.

Today, however, I am not angry. Today, I am sad and fearful because all the institutions who are supposed to protect us have lined up to appease violent criminals instead of providing us with justice, leadership and protection from Landclaim Terror.

Now that the Ipperwash Inquiry and both levels of government have given a green light to more native occupations, intimidation and terror campaigns, I fear that, absent a concerted, organized and peaceful effort by Canadian citizens to influence elected officials, the rule of law in Canada is in danger of being lost completely. The opposite of the Rule of Law is anarchy. When police refuse to enforce the law, and governments reward criminals with money and official inquiries to cover up their crimes at the expense of law abiding citizens, there can be no other outcome. None.

During my speech at the January 20/07 March for Freedom I alluded to the dangers of allowing the Rule of Law to slip away:

parade-mark-w-unefii-ismailia-egypt-19780001.jpgAs you may know I am a former soldier with the Canadian Forces and I served a six month tour of duty as a peacekeeper with the United Nations in the Middle East. [3rd from right]

“I have seen the burned out tanks in the desert and driven carefully through the minefields. I have driven through the streets of the Gaza strip where today there is civil war because there is NO rule of law. I have stood on the hill in northern Israel that is named Har Megidon. You may know it by its English name – Armageddon.”

The Premier of Ontario and now, the Commissioner of the Ipperwash Inquiry, have referred to the use of law enforcement officers involved in landclaim occupations and protests as “peacekeepers.” This is a very disturbing development to those of us who have actually served on peacekeeping missions. Recently, fellow UN peacekeeper Merlyn Kinrade and I sent a letter to Mr. Guinty explaining the critical differences between the two:

“‘Law Enforcement’ is a role performed by police officers in a functioning, vibrant, healthy First World democracy in order to preserve the Rule of Law and protect law-abiding citizens from criminals irrespective of their race, religion, national origin or grievance. It requires that citizens respect both the law and the willingness of police officers to enforce it justly.

“‘Peacekeeping’ is a role performed mainly by soldiers trained to kill, and is used as a deterrent during civil war in failed states where the Rule of Law has broken down, or in the aftermath of international warfare to prevent further hostilities.”

It disturbs me greatly that people in positions of power talk of ‘peacekeeping’ as if it were some kind of innocuous, refined and noble form of policing when, in fact, their use of this word is the surest confirmation that the foundation of our society – the rule of law – is collapsing.  

“If our governments and our police do not enforce the law as we wait for the federal government to resolve land claims, we may well find soldiers with blue helmets in our midst one day, and the Premier of the day will not be joking about it. Of that you can be quite sure.” 

Kinrade/Vandermaas ‘Blue Helmet’ letter to Premier McGuinty, May 08/07

I share wholeheartedly the view that improving our communication with, and understanding of, First Nations people and our treaty rights is a must. I reject – out of hand – however, the notion that police should protect native criminals at the expense of innocent, law-abiding citizens. The Ipperwash Inquiry failed to make a critical distinction between honourable native people and the criminals in their midst. Their endorsement of OPP racial policing policies is wrong-headed because such policies victimize innocents, both native and non-native.

“OPP Two Tier Justice policies are based on the false assumption that native people have no self-control, that they are incapable of obeying the law, that they and their children are willing to live in a lawless world ruled by criminals who take what they want, when they want.

“What does it say to honourable native parents who try to raise their children to have respect for the rights and property of other citizens when the OPP so eagerly reward the sociopaths in native communities for their violence and criminality? How many native youth have been turned away from productive lives by well-meaning, but destructive racial policing policies?”

VoiceofCanada, May 26/06: OPP Two Tier Justice policies victimize native people

I feel a great sense of dread today that this period in Canada’s history will not end well. I fear that all our efforts to convince our leaders to pull Canada back from the brink of anarchy may have been in vain. I fear that we will not be able to mobilize Canadians quickly enough to put a stop to the insanity of rewarding violent criminals judicially and financially.  

I am not the only one who is afraid of the road our governments and police seem so determined to travel:   

“The weaklings at Queen’s Park responded [to the Caledonia occupation] by reining in police and promising the lawbreakers that the province would not call in the military. The province then appealed an entirely reasonable cease-and-desist order from a judge in Cayuga. Having created an absolute power vacuum, the province tosses this hot potato into the lap of the federal government.

As we saw in Hagersville, natives are going to test the limits of this power vacuum until somone pushes back. This cannot go on forever. More of this and our reluctant leaders will have a militia movement [my emphasis] to contend with along with growing native unrest.”

Simcoe Reformer, May 28/07: Passing the buck

When law-abiding Canadians have lost all faith in the law, the police and their governments’ ability and/or willingness to protect them from criminals, anarchy and violence will follow surely as night follows day. Sooner or later, a landowner is going to resist the intimidation of native thugs assisted by the OPP, or a sociopathic demagogue like Shawn Brant will convince some impressionable young native wannabe warrior to pull the trigger, and tragedy will be the result. The loss of innocent lives will spiral out of control as retaliation begets retaliation.

I believe we have some time yet to convince our leaders – via lawful means – to take the right road, but it concerns me greatly that roadblocks are being constantly placed in our path. I don’t understand why the OPP, the provincial government, Haldimand  council, and now the Deseronto council, are so determined to stifle our peaceful attempts to inform the public and hold our leaders accountable.  

Their naivety astounds me. For example, despite the overwhelming evidence that shows how innocent residents in Caledonia, Ipperwash and Deseronto have been victimized by native criminals and OPP Two Tier Justice, Deseronto’s clerk-treasurer and Mayor had this to say to the Belleville Intelligencer about the town’s refusal to honour their room rental agreement with us:

“We’re trying to look out for what’s best for Deseronto,” he said. “I don’t believe it was an educational process. I think that they had further intent. But the grounds we turned them down on was that it’s a facility for community associations.

“For the most part, Deseronto residents are pleased with the police treatment of the situation, said Brooks. “We’ve had lots of police presence here,” he said. “Quite honestly, most people feel protected.”

Deputy Mayor Clarence Zieman concurred. “From what I understand, the meeting would have been to berate what they call a two-tier system of policing. We’re quite happy with what the OPP are doing.”

Belleville Intelligencer, June 05/07: Deseronto keeps contentious group out

I’m sure Shawn Brant,  the Mohawk Warriors and the OPP are very pleased with Deseronto’s decision to keep citizens from  meeting other victims of native violence and Two Tier Justice, and learning from their experiences and from our work in documenting the evidence of the crimes committed against them.  Unfortunately for the citizen-passengers of the Deseronto Titanic, their ship is heading for an iceberg with the crew asleep at the wheel in blissful ignorance. 

Our governments, our police and native criminals have sent a powerful message to us that lawlessness works well as an instrument of change, and I suspect that the lesson is not lost on those caught up in land claims, both native and non-native. 

Let me make clear that, in contrast to the hateful words of Shawn Brant, I do not endorse violence. I do not seek violence. I do not hate. I believe that peaceful protest is the way to make our leaders listen. No one reading this should take my words as even a tacit approval for criminal behaviour. I simply feel a compelling duty to tell what I see and feel, and today I feel sadness and fear along with a determination to redouble my efforts to do what I can to stop the evil confronting us.

We, as citizens of a great country, have a responsibility to do what we can to help our politicians realize that we are travelling – at a very high rate of speed – down the wrong road to a very dark place. It’s time to stop and check the map before it’s too late.

VoC Note: After staying up late to finish this post, I woke to discover that Dunnville had become the latest victim of landclaim intimidation. CHTV News, June 06/07  DIAL-UP

References

7 responses to “Canada at the crossroads: Rule of law or anarchy?

  1. Pingback: 20 Days Until The Day of Discontent | CHRR at Genzel.ca | Generation Zel! Radio

  2. Shawn Brant, that son of a bitch is talking about making women and children cry, burning houses, and making people suffer like his people supposedly have.

    This “person” is making an open threat to destroy homes, and assault, possibly take people’s lives on June 29th, and he hasn’t been charged why?

    VoC REPLY: Good question! See my latest post, “Letter to Minister of Public Safety, Stockwell Day” Our leaders don’t mind talking about the remote possibility that Taliban terrorists are coming to Canada, but they seem to be deaf and blind when it comes to blatant threats right under their noses. Thanks for the comment. Mark

  3. Sounds like we will need a citizens militia pretty soon to protect communities and to remind natives that they don’t have a monopoly on violence. I never thought this would be necessary in Canada of all places!

    VoC REPLY: Thanks for the comment, Sebastian. I truly hope it will not come to that because it will mean that everything we have been trying to do will have been for nought. There is some hope today, however! The Ombudsman of Ontario has taken an interest in making sure our complaints against Fantino are fairly investigated; see this Toronto Star story: “Ombudsman blasts province for bypassing him.”

    All we have to do is look to Gaza (I was there in 1978 on a UN mission) to see what happens when there is no rule of law. I asked critics several months back how, if their use of violence was justified, what made them think it wouldn’t be turned on them. And, guess what? The thugs in Caledonia have already started turning on one another! See “OPP Two Tier Justice policies victimize native people.” The same thing happened in Ipperwash, by the way. See “Canada at the Crossroads: The Ipperwash Legacy.”\

    I believe that we, as a country, can pull back from the abyss of anarchy and civil war before it is too late, but more people – native and non-native must use their voices to condemn violence and demand that our governments and police uphold the Rule of Law. I may be fearful, but some very recent developments are making me hopeful.

    Thanks for writing. Mark

  4. Austin Thomas

    I personally think canadians have been turned into a collaboration of weaklings. Rule of law is not working ,and losing the fight. I believe that if “we” as canadians would stand up and fight for our rights as humans, we only need 25%,things could and would change. Maybe after that rule of law could be respected but until then LONG LIVE ANARCHY!

    VoC REPLY: Hi Austin. Sometimes I wonder if we have become a decadent country filled with self absorbed weaklings who are too afraid or apathetic to fight for the basic civil rights that are being taken from us. I don’t share your enthusiasm for some ‘temporary anarchy.’ I wish that my fellow citizens would speak up loudly now before anarchy reigns; once the rule of law is lost it will be almost impossible to restore without a terrible and bloody price. One only need to look at places like Gaza and Iraq; what would the rule of law be worth to those countries? We must educate our leaders and our police force about that price. Thanks for writing. Mark

  5. I think we should all thank the

    Ontario Provincial Puppets for showing us the true definition of “careless”

  6. One could look at this problem and come up with the following possible solutions:

    1. The country falls into anarchy, giving the government a well deserved wake-up call to the problem of violence, crime and, more importantly, the need for some form of law.

    2. The country falls into anarchy, resulting in a national take-over by stronger groups and individuals, who lead a government much like those in war-torn countries.

    I doubt Canada will ever be able to by-pass the anarchy to reach a result with lawful methods. There is simply too much money to be gained by the government, being so veiled to the country as a sincere, democratic power. Corruption and greed are often hidden by decent acts, from which the rewards are much greater than fame and appraisal.

    VoC REPLY: Hi Jason. Thanks for writing. It is beyond my comprehension that people in positions of power seem so willing to allow the rule of law to be taken away from our country as if it were some government program that can be stopped or started at will. Once lost, it will likely never be recovered, and even if it can be, we all will pay a heavy price — just so the OPP and Liberals can appease criminals who happen to be of a certain race. Regards, Mark

  7. Pingback: Merlyn Kinrade (CANACE) | Caledonia Victims Project